Cabbage Wraps & Called Out

I was playing around the other day in a kickball tourney when I got a phone call from a friend. Ben was a guy that I worked out with back in Lafayette. He’s pretty much the penguin’s tuxedo. So we got to talking about how we lost our edge to be healthy. Where as neither of us had actually really falling off the deep end of complete apathy for our health, we were on our way. So there was only one thing to do about it, hold each other accountable. Once upon a time, here, I wrote a little piece about having a team. Ben is on that team. He is a leader on that team! So Ben, this post is for you.

cabbage wraps

Here in Baton Rouge, I have met the least healthy person I know. Coincidentally his name is Ben. He is amazing, but has a bigger sweet tooth than I and never has to work out to stay in his jeans. He does, however, have a green thumb. His garden has produced more Kale and Cabbage this winter than we know what to do with. We have made kale chips, eaten lots of cabbage (which side effect to it’s deliciousness is a mean case of the toots. I call it “revenge of the cabbage.”), and juiced. Juiced a lot (well I juiced a lot of Kale, not we). So in the last winter harvest before planting the next round of awesome produce, had to be used and I wanted something different.

Last HarvestWhat you are looking at is the last harvest. This took up half the picnic table.

I did a little research and digging through my favorite cookbooks and of course my pinterest feed till I finally settled on Cabbage Wraps as I have been having a strong envie for some PF Changs’ wraps. …and so it was. I altered a recipe from Bill Phillips book, Eat for Life. His were Lettuce Wraps. I figured, “We have all this cabbage…who needs lettuce?”

cabbagewraps1

Not only are these delicious, but they are full of protien. My only hold up is the amount of sodium. I couldn’t find a Hoisin sauce that was low in sodium round these parts, but I will be on a mission. The final break down for the entire recipes is as follows:

This recipe serves 4. Each serving 274 calories, 36g carbs, 2g of fat, 32g protein, 897g sodium, 23g sugar.

You can find the recipe here. Save, print, cook, enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Cabbage Wraps & Called Out

  1. Pingback: Smoked Tuna Enchiladas | I saw my mom.

  2. Pingback: How does your garden grow? - Baton Rouge Moms

Leave a Reply

